Geier Gloves

The Geier Glove company was established in Centralia, Washington in 1927. For over 80 years, they have been making leather gloves and moccasins by hand, as it should be. I have used a pair of their Elkskin Roper gloves for years for motorcycle riding and various other needs. They have worn like iron, and never failed me.

This fall, I decided to try a pair of their thinner goatskin gloves (model #330ES) for upland hunting and shooting. While goatskin is definitely a thinner leather, and may feel a little insubstantial at first, this is deceiving. Goatskin is actually quite tough for its thickness, wears very well, provides good grip and allows for more sensitivity than deer or elk skin, making it perfect for activities like shooting and finer detail work.

Geier goatskin #330ES – my hands-down choice for a fine shooting glove.

It’s also worth noting that goatskin can stretch a fair bit – I would encourage ordering a snug size. The pair that I currently own were a little tough to get on when I first purchased them – but with use, they now fit like a custom-tailored, second skin.

My Geier goatskin gloves are easily as well made and perfectly suitable to the task as some shooting gloves I’ve seen, and used, costing twice as much. All Geier products are made by hand in the USA. To learn more about Geier gloves, check out this very cool blog post over at Wood and Metal.

5 comments on “Geier Gloves

  1. flynn1959 says:

    Thanks for taking the time to write! This post introduced me to Geier and am looking forward to viewing their products! Rick 🙂

  2. anonymous says:

    Wonderful post. I may have to pick up a pair of these myself.

  3. anonymous says:

    Would you do a post on your whole kit for fishing, camping, or hunting?

    • Smithhammer says:

      Phew – that could potentially be a lot of different stuff, depending on whether I was archery elk hunting, upland hunting with a dog, trout fishing, bonefishing….but I’ll keep some posts like that in mind for the future. Thanks for the suggestions, and keep ’em coming!

      • anonymous says:

        Would love to see what you’re using when you’re flyfishing. I’m in my late twenties but I have not adopted all the new gear that is so popular now. I do, however, use graphite (which isn’t trendy as much as it is more affordable and efficient). My trout stream outfit is a Martin 61 on 4wt 8′ Redington Classic Trout rod and my saltwater outfit is a G Loomis GLX with an Made in England SA System 2 89. My bass rod is a custom 9′ 6wt TFO BVK with a USA made Medalist. Really enjoy going light and old school with the gear ie aluminum or dewitt fly boxes, wool sweaters rather than fleece, waxed cotton jacket rather than goretex. My waders are 100% modern though. I even enjoy using older non-synthetic fly patterns in both salt and fresh. Everyone has their own reasons for using the gear that they prefer. To me this stuff is more affordable, more reliable, and more in spirit with escaping to the outdoors to leave modern “conveniences” behind. I am a huge fan of this blog, I check it everyday hoping for an update.

Leave a Reply

