Bark River Knife Follow-Up

I can’t say I hadn’t been warned. In fact, I was warned by every one I knew who owned a Bark River knife.

“Careful. You won’t be able to own just one,” they said.

“They are extremely addictive,” they advised.

Dammit. They were right. The addiction continues with the addition of a Bark River “Little Caper.”

Bark River ‘Little Caper’ with impala horn scales and red liners.

At an overall length of 5.7″ the Little Caper is a “three finger” knife, meaning that for most people, your normal grip on the knife will be with your thumb and first three fingers. Or alternately, thumb on top of the spine, and first three fingers on the grip.  A knife that you can’t get your entire hand around might seem a little dubious at first, but for many finer tasks, I really prefer smaller knives with this type of grip, and have never found it to be less than secure. The Little Caper, with a slight trailing point, is a really fantastic slicer that enables precision control of the 2.7″ A-2 steel blade. But with a blade thickness of .170″ this isn’t a thin, flimsy blade by any means, or a knife narrowly-limited only to fine slicing tasks. I have found it to be a handy EDC, and/or a perfect piggy-back knife to a larger hunting knife of choice. Combined with my extremely versatile and capable BKRT “Canadian Special” pictured below, there isn’t much I can’t do.

BRKT “Little Caper” next to a matching “Canadian Special” (r.), and my piggyback sheath setup.

In my last post, I mentioned that it was the middle of winter, and that I hadn’t been able to really get out and use these knives extensively yet. Well now I have. I’m not going to bore you with 18 consecutive pictures documenting every stage of making shavings with these knives, or batoning (a rather over-hyped test of a knife in my opinion). No, I’m not here to prove anything. Suffice to say I’ve sliced, chopped, shaved and yes, even batoned (with the larger models) of these knives and have been nothing less than totally impressed through all of it. Yes, these are beautiful knives. And more importantly – these are knives that are made to be used hard. You can trust me on this, or find out for yourself by picking up a Bark River knife. I know few people who haven’t been seriously impressed.

Another item I would like to bring to your attention in this follow-up is the KSF Pocket Sheath that I recently picked up. At first I was a little dubious of how frequently I would actually use a pocket sheath, but I find that I’m liking it more and more. This particular model is called the ‘Allegheny,’ and KSF makes several other models/sizes. The Allegheny fits my Bark River Woodland Special (overall length 6.8″) perfectly, with an extra pocket for a firesteel, mini-flashlight, etc. It comfortably fits in either a front, back or cargo pants pocket, or the pocket of a coat, and it’s great for those short jaunts in the woods where you just like the security of knowing you have a few essentials with you (and  really, when don’t you want that?). It’s also great for longer treks, where the waistbelt of a pack might interfere with a belt knife. The sheaths will obviously fit many other makes of knives as well. All KSF pockets sheaths are made of stout leather and are built to last.  Available at Knives Ship Free.

KSF ‘Allegheny’ Pocket Sheath, pictured with Bark River Woodland Special and a fire steel.

As mentioned previously, all Bark River knives are handmade in the USA, as are KSF sheaths. And yes, I’m already lusting after a couple more Bark River knives. In fact, there aren’t many other knives that interest me anymore. This is bad…

7 comments on “Bark River Knife Follow-Up

  1. thunderbolt1959 says:

    Gee, if you end up with more cutlery than you need, feel free to send them my way…:-)

    Thank You for posting!!

    Rick Flynn

  2. More posts, please. I have finally bought everything you’ve reviewed. Ha! Well, actually I have quite a few of these. Don’t tell my wife.

    • Smithhammer says:

      Thanks! I know I’ve been slacking lately. Summer’s a busy time, but hopefully as things start to slowdown, I’ll have new material. And please – if you have any suggestions for gear that would fit in, let me know.

      And don’t worry, your wife will never know. ; )>

  3. I can’t wait to try one of these! Your reviews are so thorough thank you!

  4. chad smith says:

    how does that little caper fit into a pocket sheath? i was looking at picking one up and using a city sheath or double sheah.. could you post some pics of that or an answer?

    • Smithhammer says:

      Chad – I don’t own the city sheath or the double, but it fits just fine in the original KSF pocket sheath and the DLT “Buckhorn” pocket sheath. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

